3GPP RAN elects new chair

Balázs Bertényi of Nokia Corporation has been elected RAN Chairman this week, which has responsibility for radio aspects, functions, requirements and interfaces for all 3GPP networks.

He succeeds Dino Flore of Qualcomm Inc., who has served the maximum number of two terms as the Chairman of TSG RAN, who is now chair of the newly established 5GAA group.

Balázs Bertényi has participated in 3GPP for over 15 years, gaining technical experience as a contributor in SA groups and in RAN. He has a wealth of leadership experience in 3GPP, serving terms as Chairman of SA Working Group 2 (2007-2011) and as Chairman of the 3GPP SA Plenary (2011-2015).

Three 3GPP RAN Vice-Chairmen were also elected at this week’s meeting, with the votes returning Vince Spatafora (AT&T) for the North American partner ATIS, Xiaodong Xu (China Mobile Com. Corp.) of CCSA to represent the Asia region and the third (non regional) Vice-Chairmanship going to Satoshi Nagata (NTT DOCOMO INC.).